centered image

centered image

A Letter To My Son, The Surgeon

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Dec 7, 2016.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

It is too easy to lose your way as a physician when faced with the daily stress of real medicine. Spending time with the next generation of physicians gives me faith that we will always have a few doctors who stand out as not just competent, but caring healers.

[​IMG]

My son is currently a surgical resident. After the break, is a letter I wrote to him when he was an intern. A resident’s life is far from the glamorous stylized Grey’s Anatomy experience. It’s grueling and exhausting. I struggle as I watch him endure his chosen path. As a physician, I know exactly how he feels, and I know that he will survive. As a mother, I want to smother him with love, make him sleep more and fix his schedule so that he can have two days off in a row to come home for Christmas.

My husband reminds me when I hang up the phone in tears, “Keep the faith. He will be fine. You did it too, and you survived.”

I know in my heart that he will not only survive residency training, but he will thrive.

I envy you. I will never again feel the tumult and rush of surgical training. I’ll never feel the uncertainty of the first cut into human flesh, the adrenaline surge of a catastrophic bleed, the sickening grit of a malignancy in my hands, or the joy of knowing that in the moment my hands are the solution.