centered image

centered image

Don’t Dread Internship: 5 Truths From A First-Year Intern

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Dec 20, 2014.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I admittedly spent a good portion of the fourth year of medical school dreading internship. A year where I was expected to suddenly be a doctor and to have all the answers. A year where I would work long hours and carry several pagers at one time. I come to you in blog form to inform you of some of the truths about internship. I have been an intern in family medicine at the University of Utah for six months now.

The first, and probably most important, truth is that I am surviving, and more than surviving, I am enjoying my experience thus far as a new intern. I am loving exploring Salt Lake City and all that Utah has to offer. While being in a brand new place is at times overwhelming, it has also been an incredible new adventure — almost every experience has been a new one. So many new people to meet, restaurants to try, and beautiful mountains to explore.