centered image

centered image

Is It Possible To Learn Medicine On My Own Without Being A Student In A Medical University?

Discussion in 'Pre Medical Student' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Sep 3, 2016.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

93b9070b1410d0dd67c3fa03691a0d2c.jpg

This question was originally posted on Quora:

Is it possible to learn medicine on my own without being a student in a medical university? If yes, what would be some useful resources (books, articles, etc.)?

I'm an engineering student, but I always wanted to learn medicine, so is it possible to self-study medical sciences? like physiology, anatomy, etc...

f6b2fff42d72080c6514aefdf088852f.jpeg

Michelle Hebert, ELS, Medical Editor and Writer

Thanks for the Ask-to-Answer.

Of course it's possible. I did it. I learned very much about medicine without going to college about it or earning a degree. After learning a great deal from reading and writing, I went on to be a medical writer and editor and learned even more first-hand from some of the biggest names in cardiology, oncology, neuro-oncology, endocrinology, psychiatry, dermatology, ophthalmology, and other therapeutic areas.

It all depends on what you want to do with this knowledge. In medicine today it is impossible to get any sort of a job in any medical field without a degree. But don't even begin to think that you can actually PRACTICE medicine without extensive and professional medical training, and accredited, earned credentials!

Start by reading some of the simpler to understand articles in medical tabloids and newspapers.