centered image

centered image

It’s Time To Celebrate Diversity In Physicians

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Jul 30, 2015.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

As a multi-racial and ethnically ambiguous American, 90 percent of the time I walk into a patient’s room or show up to help run a clinic I’m asked if I’m a nurse or a translator. Most of my patients simply do not perceive someone who looks like me to be a doctor. This may be because the majority of doctors at hospitals I’ve worked at are either Caucasian, Asian, or Indian. In fact, I’ve never really met another doctor who looks like me.

At first this really bothered me and made me feel a bit out of place in the field. However, I’ve come to realize that most patients make these assumptions based off of what they are used to not necessarily what they prefer. It’s just a matter of sitting with them and listening with love and concern, engaging in shared decision-making, and focusing on patient empowerment through education to foster confidence and trust. All the things every doctor should be doing.

I’ve realized that the focus has to be on changing the perception. Doctors are women. Doctors are from all different races. Doctors are unique. We are individuals who dress and connect with patients in a variety of ways, and our diversity should be celebrated.