centered image

10 Tips To Make Residency More Enjoyable

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Jan 16, 2016.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

As a second year resident, I often do not feel like an expert in anything. Every day I learn more about medicine and realize how much more I still want to learn. In spite of the emotional, physical and mental challenges that being a young doctor entails, I have remained positive and have grown stronger throughout residency. As I reflect on the past year and a half, I appreciate the valuable lessons that I have learned that have made my life during residency more enjoyable. Hopefully, these tips will help you, too, to thrive during residency and life.

1. Build a support system. You need people in your life who you can talk to about work, football, politics or anything else that crosses your mind. After four years of dinner conversations, my husband, who still cannot look at blood without cringing, knows much more about medicine than the average lay person and has provided me an invaluable, non-medical perspective on hospital and patient concerns.

2. Keep your hobbies. Pursuing your passions while in residency, whether you like to play an instrument, paint, lift weights, sing, or write, is not only possible but is also essential. I bake cupcakes on my days off, workout, at least, three times a week at my local gym and read fiction.

3. Embrace your vulnerability. Don’t be afraid to admit to your colleagues that you’re hungry, tired or having a rough time. Being vulnerable is part of being human and enables you to empathize with the people you help every day. Although it took me 24 hours into my third 28-hour shift to admit to my peers that I was tired, I felt much more supported when I realized that everyone else was exhausted, too.