centered image

3 Lessons I’m Learning About Practicing Medicine

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, May 24, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

With about a year’s worth of experience practicing medicine, I can say with certainty that I’ve got a lot left to learn. I’m a medical student in my final year. In Estonia, we cover all subjects by the 5th year — and in the 6th year, we practice.

I applied for a medical license back home in Finland that allows me to practice medicine with a designated consultant. Having a consultant helped me learn clinical medicine quicker and avoid bigger medical errors. The lessons I’ve been learning the hard way are related to how I approach practicing medicine.

1. Don’t blame the sick for being sick. That’s the first piece of advice to doctors in the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine. It really resonated with me because I realized I was judging some patients.

I started doctoring in a small hospital department. The department had a lot of multimorbid patients. I found patients with lifestyle diseases to be the most challenging. Lifestyle diseases are those with a clear link to harmful lifestyles. For example, smoking is linked to COPD and overeating to obesity. Treating the exacerbation of COPD in a current smoker felt like plugging holes in a sinking ship. The patients didn’t seem interested in helping themselves, and that frustrated me.

The biopsychosocial etiology of a disease is important. Let’s take a smoker, for example. If they grew up poor, that increases their risk of becoming a smoker. Their parents might have smoked. Maybe all their friends did. Maybe the smoker was prone to addiction from birth. This smoker could, because of all these factors, end up smoking for their whole life and get COPD.

[​IMG]