centered image

5 Fictional Hospitals I Wouldn’t Want To Go To

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Sep 11, 2015.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

If one were to aggregate the top three reasons why people want to become doctors they would go: 1. To help people, 2. At least some affinity for science and 3. Because of some hospital show they loved growing up. The reality that many doctors are too vain to admit – myself included – is that at one point we all watched shows about doctors, fantasized about becoming one, and these fantasies influenced our decisions to enter the field more than we would like to admit. Well, similar to my hobby of imagining being an awesome fictional doctor, I recently tried imagining what it would be like to be a patient in these fictional hospitals. This was not fun. In fact, it was somewhat terrifying. What I instantly realized is that much of the attraction of a medical show comes from watching fictional doctors deal with a variety of severe and shocking diseases. This becomes a very real problem for you as a fictional patient, as you are the one with all the severe and shocking diseases. Add to that the fact that you will be treated by a variety of doctors riddled with issues, drama and ridiculous idiosyncrasies; being a patient in these hospitals is in itself a health hazard. Because of this epiphany, I’ve decided to compile the top five fictional hospitals I wouldn’t want to go to.

5. Sacred Heart Hospital- Scrubs