centered image

centered image

5 Foods That Aren't as Healthy as You Think

Discussion in 'Dietetics' started by Ghada Ali youssef, Feb 27, 2017.

1. Ghada Ali youssef

Ghada Ali youssef Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Learn the truth about five foods that get marketed as healthy foods, but aren't really that healthy if you're trying to stay fit.

I have a master’s degree in exercise physiology, a certification in sports nutrition, and over a decade of follow-up studies, thousands of books read, and ongoing continuing education units.

Yet, I find it flabbergasting to see the same foods get marketed over and over again as healthy foods for fit people—foods that I personally used and accepted as healthy for a very long period of time prior to finally realizing that they weren’t doing my body, brain or biomarkers any favors at all.

In no order of importance, here are five such foods that fit people get fooled into thinking are healthy.

1) Nut butter
    While peanut butter (which is technically a legume, not a nut) is the biggest culprit and tends to be comprised of moldy, rancid peanuts and high amounts of sugar, salts, and vegetable oil, many fitness enthusiasts are stuffing themselves full of hundreds of hidden calories from just about every other form of nut butter marketed as health food. Think about it this way: if you had to shell each nut you ate, how many would eat? Especially if weight loss or weight control is your goal, that might be a single handful which—brace yourself—comes out to not much more than a teaspoon of nut butter, and not the 2-3 tablespoons of almond, cashew, peanut, and other nut butters so commonly consumed in shakes, smoothies, and straight out of the jar. A healthier alternative? How about just a handful of soaked, sprouted, or raw almonds? Yes, one handful.

2) Whole wheat bread