centered image

centered image

5 Parenting Mistakes I Make As A Pediatrician-Mom

Discussion in 'Pediatrics' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, May 6, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I have been a medical doctor for 19 years, a pediatrician for 16 years and a mom for 11 years. Being a mom is — hands down — the hardest but also enhances my work as a physician (though I would not admit this before I had my own children). My work at work and my work at home intersect daily.

[​IMG]

Since I work in a hospital, I don’t field as many of the parenting questions as my outpatient counterparts do. But I do encounter issues with safe sleep, breastfeeding, neglect, trauma, and nutrition on a regular basis. And sometimes, I will admit, I feel like a fraud. I know the “right answers” to rattle off to the questions and scenarios, but I also know my personal answers and have felt ashamed and unwilling to disclose them in the past.

I think there is more gray than black and white. I think there is more “right for you” than right or wrong. I want to support parents who are doing their best and love their kids like crazy and are afraid to answer the questions the wrong way as the MA punches their responses into the tablet. So here’s what happened and happens in my house after four years of undergraduate and four years of medical school and three years of pediatric residency and three years of outpatient pediatric practice and 13 years of being a pediatric hospitalist: