centered image

centered image

A Code In The Time Of COVID-19

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Aug 1, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

The first time I had ever been present when a patient was in cardiac arrest, I was a medical student, spending a night in the emergency department of a small local hospital. An old woman was rushed in from home after she had fallen over at the dinner table; her heart had stopped – and maybe she had choked on something. It wasn’t clearly cardiogenic. But she was full code, and so we coded her. It went on for about 40 minutes, long enough that there was little chance of her coming back, so long they even had me – the pre-clinical medical student – help with chest compressions.

The next thing I knew, I was standing on a stool at the side of the gurney. The patient was probably in her late 60s or early 70s. I remember that too-pale face, slight waxy coolness of her skin when I put my hands on her sternum. Her family was there too, standing off to the side while this all went on; her daughter was crying, but also shouting out encouragement to her mother. This was the first dead person I ever saw.

During residency, I remember one fellow resident who stood at least 6′ 2″ and over 220 pounds whose chest compressions were delivered with such energy that they almost invariably broke ribs. There was nothing quite like stepping up to the chest after he was done with it. The usually stable construction of sternum and ribs, cartilage, and bone, wound being to move separately of each other under my hands. He’d bring you back, we joked later, but you wouldn’t like it much.