centered image

A Dam About To Burst: The Job Of “Doctor” Places Too Much Stress On One Person

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 7, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

“I wish this were not the case, but I am concerned that your disease is getting worse, and your time may be very short.”

“I know you are angry and upset at how you were treated — I will do my best to make sure that does not happen again.”

“I am sorry, but I cannot write a prescription for your pain medication.”

“I know you are confused — I will try to figure out what is going on and work to communicate it clearly to you.”

“I am sorry to say that I do not know what is wrong with you. I will be there for you, but I am not sure what we need to do next to help you.”

The comments above were not spoken to me, thankfully. These are words I have had to say to patients in the past few weeks. I am a primary care physician and the administrative leader of a large practice. Most of my work week is pretty mundane, but quite frequently, I am in a situation where I am telling people news that is very hard to relate. My job is amazing, and I am privileged to be in that space. But over time, saying these words to patients — scared people, angry people, people in pain — can take its toll. In fact, in the past few months, I have found myself increasingly burned out and stressed by my roles, feeling like the job of “doctor” places too much stress on one person. I have honestly considered leaving the profession.

I’m currently reading Colossus, a history of the building of the Hoover Dam, by Michael Hiltzik. At the time it was conceived and built, the Hoover Dam was the largest and most ambitious undertaking ever conceived by man. The scale of what was accomplished in this effort to permanently bend the will of one of America’s great rivers is overwhelming to consider.