centered image

centered image

A Doctor, a Rabbi and a Chicken

Discussion in 'Family Medicine' started by Sunday Flower, Oct 18, 2014.

1. Sunday Flower

Sunday Flower Bronze Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Philippines

The Doc Rabbi and Chix Post.JPG

“Doctor, is it O.K. for our rabbi to visit my father?”

I was an intern on call in one of the internal medicine wards in an Israeli hospital just south of Tel Aviv. The first day of the Jewish holiday of Sukkot had just ended, and the ward was beginning to fill up with visitors who had been unable to drive until after sunset.

Looking up from what I was doing, I saw the son of one of my patients standing at the counter of the nursing station. He and I had already spoken several times that day about his 75-year-old father, who had been admitted the night before because of a stroke.

The father’s CT scan from the night before had been unremarkable, not unusual in patients whose strokes are caused by an interruption of blood flow to portions of the brain. I had explained this to the son, as well as what to expect over the next few days as his father would undergo further testing and then discharge to a rehabilitation facility. I told him that it was impossible at this early stage to predict how much function his father might recover, and cautioned against giving him anything to eat or drink until we were certain that his ability to swallow had not been affected. All of the son’s questions had been very appropriate and focused.

“Of course,” I responded, smiling and a little surprised that he had asked my permission. No one else had that evening.

Thanking me, he turned around towards the main door of the ward, located just beyond behind the nurses’ station. Bowing to the rabbi who was just out of sight, the son addressed him in the third person: “Please, may the honorable rabbi enter.” After kissing the rabbi’s hand, he straightened up and led the guest to his father’s room.