centered image

A Family Physician Is Redeployed To The Emergency Department.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 3, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Two years ago, I shared my thoughts on the joy of family medicine. Two years ago, I was a senior resident working in Ann Arbor, thinking about who I will be when I graduate. Two years ago, my biggest worry was if I could finish my notes in time for sign out and meet friends to play volleyball. Today, I come with mixed but honest feelings considering recent events.

As I started my sports medicine fellowship in Detroit, Michigan, my goals and aspirations to learn were endless. I worked with and became friends with some amazing schools, coaches, athletic trainers, athletes, and sports medicine colleagues. I soaked in the wealth of knowledge. At the same time, I kept my roots in primary care and family medicine by having a clinic in downtown Detroit near the water that separates the automotive heart of the country and Canada. Life was quite routine; see patients in the clinic, grab lunch, drive to the training room, cover a game, drive home, shower, sleep, and repeat. Things were going well. I was on the job hunt, searching for my first “attending” job. However, things drastically changed.

I remember the first day I had to put on full PPE in the family medicine clinic to see all the respiratory illness visits. I remember thinking, “This is like any other visit you’ve done, Anthony. You just have a couple of extra things on.” At that time, at the beginning of March, my initial naïve thoughts that COVID-19 was a small issue were quickly thwarted. Multiple emails were sent daily on the ever-changing algorithms for treatment/testing and personal protective gear. Sifting through these emails, the email regarding redeployment arrived.