centered image

A Medical Student Walks Out Of A Class. The Silence That Follows Is What Hurts Most.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jul 29, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

As a medical student, I was finally starting my clinical rotations, a time of great anticipation and celebration among medical students and their families. After two years of book learning, I was going to be called “doctor” and wear my short white doctor’s coat. I was thrilled!

As we gathered in the lecture hall, and over the hubbub of my equally excited classmates, I notice the huge screen down in front. Now, this is dermatology rotation, and I don’t like skin lesions very much; they are kind of disgusting, but I chuckle nervously to myself at the thought that I am going to learn medicine from the outside in. That seems appropriate, somehow. That’s cool.

And then I realized how big those icky skin lesions are going to be on that ginormous screen. If I wasn’t so excited to reach this milestone in my training, I would have been a little nauseous at the thought. I drop to my seat and settle in. The attending professor, in a crisp, very white, and long lab coat indicative of his “real doctor” attending status walks in and begins to call the roll, “Doctor Abbott,” he bellows. “Oh my gosh, I am going to be called doctor for the first time today.”

“Doctor Adams!” the bellowing continues. Somehow it reminds me of the herald of the ball. He is heralding in my future as a doctor!

“Doctor Adkins, Doctor Ballenger,” he continues.