centered image

A Medical Student’s Story Of Racism And Bias

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 7, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I am a third-year medical student at what I believe to be the most diverse medical school in the country. Every year our entering class is made up of at least 20 percent of students who identify as underrepresented in medicine. Beyond that, we make it very clear that if fighting against health and social inequities is not a thread of the very fabric of who you are, this may not be the best place for you. As a result, for the first two years of medical school, I lived in a bubble. I was surrounded by classmates, faculty, and staff who not only looked like me, but fought for me in every instance possible. I was comfortable and, in my comfortability, I became somewhat complacent. Now do not get me wrong, there were instances of racism and bias throughout my first two years of medical school. However, my classmates and I quickly reported them, and the issues and perpetrators were addressed.

[​IMG]