centered image

A Moral Imperative To Heal The Broken Health Care Model In This Country

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 30, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

One of the most salient issues in America has always been access to health care. As a medical student, I have seen firsthand the importance of strong health care protections for patients. I believe that the November election result is only a start toward better policies – a future in which we, as medical trainees, must play an active role in. In recent history, with the passage of the Affordable Care Act, millions of Americans were newly able to access health care. It seemed as if we were in an era where expanded health care coverage was becoming less controversial from a medical outcomes and ethics standpoint, and at worst, break-even from an economic standpoint. However, over the past four years, I have been disturbed to see how Republicans have relentlessly attacked the Affordable Care Act, whether in the Supreme Court or via sponsored legislation and will presumably continue to do so even when Trump leaves office.

In my short time in medical school, I have already seen many patients who end up in the emergency department, require emergency surgeries, or even die because they let medical problems go for too long untreated. A widespread reason is that they do not have access to affordable insurance, which has plagued this country long before Trump. I personally do not think I could, in good conscience, treat someone in the emergency department or perform surgery on them and send them on their way only for that person to be bankrupted by their care.