centered image

A Physician And Her COVID-Free Island

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 11, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am a physician that was placed in a unique position. I was hired as a private contractor to work for three months in a remote medical setting on Wake Island.

Wake Island is a remote island approximately 2000 miles west of Hawaii, with a population of 150+ people.

Wake Island is unique in that it is a mid-Pacific refueling stop for military aircraft. Most people have never heard of Wake Island but is a coral atoll best known for its role in WWII and is an unincorporated territory of the United States and is one of the most isolated islands in the world.

But what many people don’t know is that Wake Island is COVID-19 virus free.

I initially took this contract while in between jobs, I was working as a Department of Defense civilian for the U.S. Army at Ft. Huachuca, Arizona as their sports medicine physician, but after four years, I decided that I wanted to start a private practice in the adjacent town in southern Arizona.

Knowing that the credentialing process can take several months, I decided to take a twelve-week deployment with Remote Medical International, a company that specializes in providing medical services to areas that are unique and remote such as Wake Island.

In March, I boarded a plane at Hickam Air force base in Honolulu, donned with mask and gloves, I was screened and boarded a very empty plane headed 5 hours west to Wake Island.

Upon my arrival, I was greeted by the attending physician, who was very happy to meet his replacement.

As we drove around the island just over 4 miles long, he explained that we were not treating any COVID-19 patients, but instead, we were battling to keep it off the island. Wake Island was virus-free.

And he passed the torch onto me. Keep the virus away.