centered image

A Physician Leaves Concierge Medicine After 13 Years

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 21, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Much is written about the advantages for primary care physicians and patients of working within a retainer model, direct primary care, concierge-type care model. Little is written about the downside or disadvantages. It is time to shine a light on the benefits and challenges of concierge and standard models through an experienced lens, particularly as drivers of burnout and the primary care shortage loom so large. The phase of a career may be an important factor.

I started practicing internal medicine in downtown Portland, Oregon, in January 1986 at age 28.

Part of the success of this private practice was a culture of house calls and hospital rounds. I had amazing senior mentors on how to optimize the patient experience.

Due to reputation and location, we saw both the Portland elite and the homeless. By 2005, now working at an academic medical center on the West Coast, I was asked to develop and lead what became the largest at the time concierge practice in academic medicine in the United States. Thus launched my unplanned career as a “concierge internist.” Due to this success, I was recruited to an academic health care system in 2011 to launch a first-ever (and still going strong) concierge primary care practice in an integrative medicine center.