centered image

A Physician Suicide: Covered Up With A Tarp And Silence

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Feb 5, 2018.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

Another young doctor recently jumped to her death in New York City. She landed at the entrance of the building where she lived.

Within less than an hour, I received the following emails about her. All published with permission.

Hello Pamela, I am not a doctor, but a mother of 3 and a wife of a resident physician. Tonight I watched AGAIN the police taking the body of another female doctor — lifeless — into a body bag. Two doctors died from jumping off our 33-story building in 2 years, and no one seems to care. The hospital and everyone are so silent. They cover it up. No one talks about. Someone dies, and everyone puts their heads down and ignores it and are told by the hospital to keep quiet — especially to reporters.

Thank you so much for your blog, public speaking, and advocacy. Since I’m not a doctor, there’s only so much I can understand about what my husband is going through. Discovering your blog has helped me know how to help my husband in so many ways. I worry so much about him. When we’ve tried to seek mental health care, we’ve had to be top secret about it. It’s insane. I’m tired of seeing dead bodies out my window. I’m tired of being on the sidelines. I’m feeling so angry and upset. I feel so powerless. What actions can I take to make sure I never see something like this happen again? Words can never describe how it feels to see a dead body outside your window. A beautiful lifeless body of a beautiful doctor.

This is what I saw when I came home tonight — a dead doctor lying under that tarp — lifeless in the freezing cold. What I am supposed to tell my daughter when she asks, “Mommy what’s that?”

[​IMG]

Email #2: