centered image

A physician’s Guide To Getting More Time With Family

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, May 13, 2018.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Do you ever feel like time is always slipping away? Do you feel like you hardly get time to enjoy the things you love? For example, do you feel like you get enough time in your day to spend with your kids? If your answer is “no,” welcome to the club. You are not alone! I am a physician mom of young kids who used to feel like I never got enough time with my children. Thankfully, I can now say that I have figured out a way to spend more time with them.

[​IMG]

Some of the things that have helped me get more time back in my day includes: taking inventory of my time, being ruthless about cutting out things that do not serve my purpose and keeping the things that work for me. It begins with asking myself two simple but powerful questions:

Does this serve me?

Can I delegate it?

As a busy physician mom, my personal goal has been to have more quality time with my kids. About two and a half years ago, I decided to be more intentional about my day-to-day life concerning my kids. I sat down and wrote out a time inventory, consisting of what my average day looked like from the time I woke up until the time I went to sleep at night. I was sure to be thorough about the details of my day. I went through the list two times:

The first time around, I went through every detail of my day and asked myself, “Does this serve me?” And if the answer was “no” to something, that said thing was crossed off of the list.

The second time around, I asked myself, “Can I delegate this?” I put a star next to things I could delegate.