centered image

A Physician’s Journey About The Complexities Of Gender

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jul 22, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

Entering the dimly light room, I could hear soft music playing in the background. The laboring room was so peaceful, it was hard to believe the patient in the bed was in active labor. But once up close, you could hear her breathing become deeper and louder every three or four minutes as she rode the wave of another contraction. Her husband was by her side, breathing with her, toweling off her face, giving her ice chips.

Her pregnancy had been uneventful. The couple had opted for minimal testing during the pregnancy and didn’t want to know the sex of their baby at her five-month ultrasound. As a second-year resident, I was meeting this couple for the first time when she arrived in labor. I was wooed into their warm, peaceful laboring room and made sure, despite a busy labor and delivery unit, I was present for the delivery. As a resident, we couldn’t attend every delivery since we covered the entire labor and delivery unit. She was as calm and focused when she started pushing as she was in labor. Even though this was her first baby, she pushed like she had done it before and the baby moved rapidly down the birth canal. As the head started crowning, we all excitedly started guessing the sex of the baby. The patient had dreamt several times it was a boy, the husband “just knew” it was a girl. The rest of us were wildly guessing, with no justification for our prediction.