centered image

centered image

A Physician’s Story Of Survival: The Importance Of Seeking Help

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jan 18, 2023.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

“Remember, today you could be standing next to someone trying their best not to fall apart. So whatever you do today, do it with kindness in your heart.” – Unknown

Today, I want to talk personally from the perspective of a Black, female, physician. I have a confession, I struggle with setting boundaries. I did not know how detrimental this challenge was until I started studying it more deeply. Did you know that being unable to set boundaries can put you at risk for suicide? Let me explain…

When we don’t have clear boundaries, we often say yes to things out of a feeling of obligation or our own negative perceptions about what people will think of us. This often leads to anxiety and depression as we become overloaded with too many burdens and stressed out. Eventually, if no intervention is had, we find ourselves in a hole too deep to get out of, and our brain capacity to utilize our own agency gets destroyed in the process.

I think as physicians, we often find ourselves working in environments where our self sacrifice is honored and applauded at our expense in a profound way. Let’s be honest, it is worse when you are a female physician who feels the pressure to prove yourself even heavier, as thoughts that intrude your desire to seek self-care are laden with feelings of guilt or fear of what people will think or say about you.

[​IMG]