centered image

A Social Worker Remembers A Tortured Soul

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 17, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

By profession, Donna Dillon is a photographer. She wouldn’t like to be described as a “professional” anything, but the quality of her photos make her deserving of the term.

But disarray and inertia characterize Donna now, by her own description. “My life’s work is stuffed into little places, and I sit relatively immobile, before the prospect of the bequeathment. I have set up a will, but it is sort of desperate, maybe even an interim, resolution of my worry. It’s OK for now, though.”

For all the time I have known Donna Dillon — at least thirty years, even back to the time when “Donna” went by “Don” — she was a well-known photographer. In those years, I knew her to be severely depressed, so much so that she ought not to have been expected to function at the level she has. But somehow she did.

Indeed, all the photos hanging just about everywhere in her adopted community are testimony to how she once worked. And what isn’t on display is stored nearby where she keeps a cabin. She spends most days at that cabin. The quantity of artwork stored in that small space is probably many times that which has been sold or given away, and she has given away much of it. Donna is uniquely generous.

When I first met Donna, she was Don as I keep saying, and she lived above a restaurant on Green Street.

Some days I would meet Donna (then Don) in the street, and it would be difficult to evoke so much as a weak smile from her. She was that down. Her speech frequently struck me as labored. If I didn’t see her for awhile and remembered to inquire after her, I might be told by a friend of hers that she was working through a particularly severe bout of depression and had withdrawn to her room above the restaurant.