centered image

centered image

A Surgeon Will Always Have Two Spouses

Discussion in 'General Surgery' started by Egyptian Doctor, Apr 12, 2015.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I’m an old school general surgeon. I graduated from med school in 1974 and after a five-year surgical residency in San Antonio, Texas, I started out on my own, ready to cure the world. Boy, was I raw. Like many of my peers, I got married during medical school, and like every surgeon back in those days I told my wife, “I will always have two wives, you and medicine.” While some spouses accepted that dictum, others, including mine, resented it.

Shortly after starting my practice it became clear that our relationship had been strained to the breaking point by my singular focus on achieving my life’s goal. Spending every third night in the hospital during residency didn’t help. We both concluded our marriage was beyond repair. That was a stressful time, to say the least, but I learned a lot from the experience, and my second marriage has lasted 33 years, amid all the trials and tribulations of raising a wonderful family.