centered image

A Victim Of Sexual Harassment As A Medical Student

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ghada Ali youssef, Feb 25, 2017.

1. Ghada Ali youssef

Ghada Ali youssef Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

When I was a third-year medical student, I was a victim of sexual harassment.

I had a patient (I no longer remember his name, so let’s call him Mr. X) who was in his eighties and I had to do a rectal exam on him. I had been on the team taking care of Mr. X for a while, and I was fine doing the rectal exam and checking for blood in the stool. These type of things often fall on the medical student as the low person on the totem pole. Mr. X repeatedly asked me where I was from and even though I answered California, he was not happy with my answer. He had served in the war. Korean? Vietnam? I no longer remember. He thought I was from Japan. I’m not. He called me “sweetheart” and did not address me appropriately as a member of his medical team.

Granted, most patients are confused about the medical system. Most patients don’t understand the hierarchy at a teaching hospital. And some patients assume that if you’re female that you’re the nurse or nursing student.

Mr. X would treat me appropriately when there were other members in the room. When I went to check on him on my own, he was sexist in his answers and made me uncomfortable. I didn’t report him. I was overheard by my (all male) team talking about what happened. My attending asked if I would attend a hospital meeting about sexual harassment. Again I felt uncomfortable, but I thought that I should attend because it was a teaching session for other people. I thought it was a good thing that the hospital wanted to make sure that we were being treated fairly.