centered image

centered image

Addressing The Lack Of Black Male Physicians Through Early Intervention

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Sep 25, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

“When I grow up, I want to be a pediatrician or a surgeon.”

Those were the words I wrote as I graduated fifth grade. I often ask myself how I have been able to navigate a world so unfamiliar to me, how I have carried on with my ambitions despite being such a large minority in medical spaces. Retracing my steps, I find that I always end up with the same answer: support. While I have all these titles, experiences, and awards that seem impressive on the surface, I can assure you that my work has been simple. I show up and work hard. My medical journey started early, which gave me ample time to cultivate the connections and build the network that serves as the foundation of my academic and professional success.