centered image

Advice For New Interns: How To Earn Respect The Right Way

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 30, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

July is a very special time of year in the medical community. We welcome thousands of newly minted physicians donning their spotless white coats and nervous smiles as they begin what will be one of the most difficult but also most rewarding and exciting times of their lives. Reflecting back on that first day as a brand new intern, I can’t help but think of how nervous I was over how I would be perceived as the new physician on the floors. Based on all the stories I was told when I was an impressionable medical student, I often feared the idea of whether I would gain the respect of nurses and other clinical support staff while behaving in ways that didn’t make me seem condescending or arrogant. Navigating the world of gaining independence and confidence in yourself as a competent physician while maintaining healthy relationships with those on your team can be daunting for all new interns across all specialties. These are a few pieces of important advice I’ve received in the past and continue to pass along to new interns and junior residents.

Answer your pages in a timely manner. Even if you don’t know the answers right away, return the page so they are aware you are working on it. Thank them for bringing issues to your attention, and let them know if you think there will be any delays in putting in an order or coming to see a particular patient. People appreciate when their concerns are acknowledged, and you will also get fewer reminder pages as a result.