centered image

After 4,380 Days, A Pair Of Danskos — And A Calling — Fall Apart

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Sep 8, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

My Danskos literally disintegrated last month.

I was in the hospital team room, finishing up my patient notes at the end of a busy hospitalist shift. I happened to look down at the floor, and there they were: black chunks on the carpet.

I thought, “Who left such a huge mess under the desk?”

I looked at the bottom of my black Danskos. There was a sizable chunk of the sole missing.

Finally, the pieces came together. My Danskos were falling apart—even as I sat there writing notes.

That night, as I threw them away, I remembered when I bought them in 2008. It was way back during my first couple weeks of residency.

You see, I had been one of those Dansko holdouts before then.

Like crocs, I hated the way Danskos looked. As a medical student, I had watched my attendings and residents wear Danskos everywhere. I had worn tennis shoes instead, vowing never to buy a pair of Danskos.

When I moved across the country and entered residency in Seattle, however, somehow my view changed. I wanted to fit in in a way I had not wanted to in medical school.

So I made my way down to the flagship Nordstrom store to buy a pair of plain black Danskos.

No, I didn’t choose the tiger-striped shiny ones. I just chose the plain matte black. I wasn’t going to pretend they were stylish. It was all about utility.

My Dansko purchase marked a shift in my identity. I was now a full-blown doctor. I’d left the east coast and moved to a new city for family medicine residency. I had my Danskos like everyone else. I’d fully embraced my identity as a physician.

That was 2008. And now, 12 years later, my Danskos were gone, tossed unceremoniously in the garbage.