centered image

centered image

After Four Years Of Medical School, How Am I ‘Nonessential’?

Discussion in 'Medical Students Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, May 6, 2020.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

As the U.S began slowly grinding to a halt in February and March, we braced for the Covid-19 pandemic that would push the U.S. and other health care systems to their limits. As a fourth-year medical student, I was ready to jump into my life as a doctor and help respond to this medical crisis. After four years of premed classes in college and four years of medical school, I have been trained to help save the world. Except I wasn’t allowed to.

[​IMG]

In mid-March, all U.S. medical students were pulled out of their work on hospital wards. Classes for first-, second-, and third-year medical students were moved online. For fourth-year students, that phase of our learning was done. We had already fulfilled the necessary credits to graduate and had matched to hospitals for our residency training, set to start in late June.

Some medical schools in hot-zone areas with a rush of Covid-19 patients started graduating their students early to join hospitals’ resident teams. Mere months away from treating patients under my own medical license, I too felt this calling to serve. Instead, I was told to stay home.

The number of patients with Covid-19 in my part of Pennsylvania is not yet dire enough for hospitals to put energy and limited resources into overcoming the obstacles of expedited licensing, insurance, and training that stand between graduated medical students and patient care. Instead, like millions of other Americans, we are “nonessential.” I sit at home feeling guilty that I cannot directly work to fight Covid-19, and I know many of my colleagues feel the same.