centered image

America’s Hubris In The Face Of COVID-19

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 18, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

COVID-19 has changed the way we live our lives for at least the foreseeable future. What hasn’t changed in America is the complacency of our people. Living in our self proclaimed “greatest country in the world” comes with many benefits, one of which is feeling fairly removed from the daily strife of life, especially if you’re in the middle class or higher socioeconomic status.

This comfort of day to day life has made us unadaptable to much-needed disruptions of life when necessary. Our “don’t tell me what to do” and “I’m an American citizen, the government will take care of me” attitude has stunted our personal responsibility to take the COVID pandemic seriously and contain it as much as possible.

As a physician, I had attempted to alert and have my family prepare weeks ago to which the response was an apathetic “it’s going to be fine.” Our country’s people are no different; if we as a people do not take it seriously, then this is bound to get out of hand. Education is key in enlightening the public of the impending crisis that awaits if drastic measures are not taken, and yet this same attempt at education is met with resistance and ignorance.

If we as Americans do not learn from our mistakes, we are bound to repeat them. Many comparisons have been made to the Spanish flu, and despite the lessons history has laid out for us, many are reluctant to accept them. Social distancing is a key factor in mitigating the spread, and yet our fellow citizens are still in denial.