centered image

Amid COVID, First Do No Harm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 19, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am a surgeon, mother, daughter, researcher, and ethicist. These multiple roles dancing together to a more discordant tune amid this unprecedented time. The “daughter” has managed to convince her ageing parents that they really ought to not leave the house and that she will step in to accommodate their needs. Simultaneously, the “surgeon” is surprised when her 80-year-old mother, Layla, relays that she received a phone call telling her she needs to present to the hospital for some tests. Those tests, the “ethicist” realized were actually additional screening bloodwork for a study Layla was being enrolled in regarding an anti-amyloid agent for mild cognitive dysfunction. “This must be a misunderstanding” the “researcher” thought, as hospital directives have halted all non-essential research, as evident in her own hospital. Either way the “daughter” says: “No way. You are not going and how are you supposed to get there?” Layla had been told that in an effort to limit contact with the public, she should take an Uber. After clarifying with the study coordinator it was concluded that the request to present at the hospital to engage in the continuation of a clinical trial was not a mistake. As a surgeon, mother, daughter, researcher, and ethicist, I’m tasked with navigating this unchartered territory.