centered image

An Elegy For Giant Medical Conventions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jul 3, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

The annual meeting of my profession’s national society last fall may have been the last old-school, convention-size, professional meeting I will ever attend. I could be wrong, but it may mark the end of an era. Disruptive change to the convention business model was inevitable, though hastened by COVID-19. This year, the leadership of many medical associations announced that their upcoming annual meetings would be virtual – if not canceled completely – for the first time, but perhaps not the last. Does this news herald disaster or opportunity?

When I was a resident attending my first national meeting, the huge convention center struck me as the mother lode of knowledge, with lectures and workshops that couldn’t be found anywhere else. Today, I wonder why I would travel across the country to attend a refresher course lecture in a freezing-cold meeting room, when I can watch similar content on YouTube or VuMedi for free, in comfort?

Professional associations could take this moment to move decisively into the video/podcast market. Speakers could record their own lectures, pro-con debates, and panel discussions, and medical societies could post all the content on proprietary video and podcast channels for members to access year-round. Think of the money we could save on travel and the cost of renting convention centers. Giant conventions at the ASA or AMA level are limited to only a few cities, most of which wouldn’t be my choice to visit.

The future of exhibit halls?