centered image

An Emergency Physician To President Trump

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 31, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am a practicing emergency medicine physician in Indianapolis, IN. I work in a county hospital whose mission is to serve the underserved. I, like you, was born into a life of privilege with white skin and parents with the means to provide all that was needed and more. My college education was paid for, and I lived a carefree life through college.

I graduated from pharmacy school and entered the workforce as a pharmaceutical sales representative. I quickly discovered that sales was not for me and that physicians were not rocket scientists. My older brother was correct; I could be a physician and should go to medical school. I found my way to the emergency department.

The ER is where the rubber hits the road. You meet people from all walks of life, some of them on the worst days of their lives. Most, on a typical day, are just trying to do the best they can for their families and loved ones. Most of the failures of America’s health care system manifest themselves in the ER. Mental health care, substance abuse disorders, and manifestations of poorly controlled common medical conditions. On a daily basis, I see the inequalities of our society. Medically, socially and, in the eyes of our judicial system, we are not all equal as are constitution mandates.

I experienced 9/11 as a young adult and saw how the country pulled together. It reminded me of the stories I heard from my mother about growing up during World War II and the sacrifices that were necessary and gladly endured. The current pandemic is a situation that most of us could not have imagined a few short months ago. We have heard of death on an unimaginable scale from across the ocean. It has now come to our shores.