centered image

An Introduction To Medical-Legal Consulting

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Dec 21, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

As many of you know, burnout is an increasingly serious problem for physicians, affecting over 50 percent of clinicians in some studies conducted before our current COVID-19 pandemic. In fact, in an interesting study, one of every four physicians is looking to do some non-clinical work, in part, to ease the stress of today’s clinical practice.

In one survey just completed, more than 48 percent of physicians reported that since the COVID-19 crisis, they felt it necessary to rethink their careers or practice seriously.

There is a unique non-clinical consulting opportunity any physician can learn to do full-time, as part of your existing practice, or in lieu of retiring. I’m Dr. Armin Feldman, and I’m a full-time medical-legal consultant in legal cases. A little over 13 years ago, I started and now, through the years, have been refining a new subspecialty of forensic medicine. I’ve trained over 1,600 physicians to do this consulting work.

When doctors and lawyers think about lawyers hiring doctors, they only think of one thing: Hiring doctors to be expert witnesses. It’s important to know, you won’t act as a medical expert, and you won’t participate in medical malpractice cases. There is a big difference between a medical-legal consultant and a medical expert witness in legal matters. In fact, they are two completely different things.

All of this work is pre-litigation/pre-trial, and the work is not specialty specific.

[​IMG]

This work is designed to help attorneys settle cases for better value with less attorney time, get the appropriate medical care for their clients, and help attorneys negotiate the medical issues in their cases.