centered image

centered image

An Operating Room Nurse Confirms That Yes, Many Surgeons Are Assholes

Discussion in 'Nursing' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Feb 19, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

c69f624316be25a8957c4e5555943c78.jpg

“Once I had a surgeon throw a suture needle at me because I set it up for a righty, and it turned out he was a lefty.”

I’m an operating room nurse at a level 1 trauma center in a large city. I work primarily in orthopedics, so we deal with trauma cases, but it’s mostly scheduled surgeries like knee or hip replacements. Surgeries start around 7 a.m., so I start by prepping the patient and then I have about a half hour to get them fully ready for the surgery. One of the first things I have the patient do is fill out a consent form. It amazes me how many people don’t read the consent form at all. In reality, you’re not going to come in for a breast biopsy and have your foot taken off. But it’s important to know what you’re signing up for. It’s rarely a problem, but occasionally a surgeon will, for example, want to remove more tissue than originally planned. It’s worth knowing that’s a possibility.

In the surgery room, typically there’s the surgeon, an anesthesiologist, an anesthesiologist’s assistant, a scrub tech — a technician trained to help the surgeon with surgical tools, a scrub nurse, and a circulator — and also a nurse who acts as more of an overseer, making sure everyone has what they need and that everything is sterile.