centered image

An Orthopedic Surgeon Goes To The COVID Frontlines

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 13, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am an orthopedic surgeon in New Jersey and recently started a new practice. Less than a week after starting, news of COVID-19 arriving in NYC was everywhere. My family, my hospital system, and the rest of the country was trying to get a handle on this virus when my daughter spiked a fever that weekend. I spent an hour calling DOH at 5 a.m. trying to figure out if it was safe to go into my office because my three year old may have a potentially lethal virus. I imagine in the background the entire medical community was similarly fumbling for answers.

The following week was spent launching telehealth. Unfortunately, my patient population does not necessarily have access to great Wi-Fi or smartphones. My now afebrile three-year-old had been at home for over a week with no end in sight. My husband was still working as a physical therapist. We checked our temperatures and pulse ox daily before leaving for work. The only thing keeping us going was knowing data suggested that children are largely spared the worst of COVID. We try to help our daughter understand why she can’t see her friends while stumbling along blindly, along with the rest of the world, worrying about our health, our livelihood, and the faltering economy.

There is a discussion of canceling our yearly academic meeting. Other medical bodies are canceling their meetings, and this is unheard of. These meetings don’t get canceled. It represents a year’s worth of research and work. Flights and hotels are booked already. In hindsight, this is a blip in the story of COVID, but at the time, the fact that people much smarter than I am were so concerned was terrifying.