centered image

centered image

Anonymous Acts Of Kindness: How This Physician Connects With Every Patient

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Aug 22, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]
    The only times I stood in Emily’s room without fear were the day I met her, and the day she died. These days were two long years apart, years of unhealthy snacking and spending most weekends away from my husband and son. When Emily’s name first appeared next to mine as an overnight admission, the resident physician providing the hand-off gave me a clear warning: “Good luck. She is the most vile person I’ve ever met.” Even as an intern, I was already used to this kind of transfer of patient information and had trained myself to ignore it. In fact, my personal statement for residency was about how providers should not label patients; how patients are complex, overwhelmed, and often in pain. I wrote that they deserve our best care. I walked in her room with a smile, and confidently told myself, “you are going to connect with her.”