centered image

As A Black ER Doctor, I See Racism Every Day. It Doesn’t Have To Be That Way.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jun 11, 2020.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Khama Ennis, chief of emergency medicine at Cooley Dickinson Hospital in Massachusetts, at the hospital earlier this year.

[​IMG]

The grotesque racism that we witnessed with the killing of George Floyd has made it clear, again, that there is an enormous amount of work to be done in this country. The outcry has been tremendous, but the hardest work is yet to come. Structural racism penetrates our everyday lives and won’t be dismantled until it is widely seen. As an emergency room doctor, let me tell you what I see every day.

I decided to become a doctor when I was a small child, shortly after my family moved to the United States from Jamaica. There were no physicians in my family. I don’t have a friend or relative who triumphed over a serious illness because of the care of a physician. I only saw my doctor, a white man, once a year for a checkup and vaccines. At the time, I had no idea that only 2 percent of physicians are black women.

Tunnel vision took me through school, undergrad, medical school and public health school. I then completed a residency and confirmed that emergency medicine is the distilled essence of my childhood idea of medicine. I see anyone who enters the building and wants help. I’ve had patients who were minutes old and patients who are over 100 — every part of the socioeconomic spectrum, every walk of life.

I don’t choose my patients and they don’t choose me. I’m just the one who happens to be there when they show up — even in the middle of the night with a shoulder dislocation that forced one patient to reveal the four-inch swastika between his shoulder blades.