centered image

centered image

As A Doctor In The ICU, I Sometimes Feel Helpless. Poetry Provides Solace

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Apr 18, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]
    The first time I was in an intensive care unit as a medical student, I wondered if I should pray. The patient was unconscious. A tube secured in his mouth connected him to a ventilator, a machine that breathed for him. He was covered by a smooth, white sheet that had been folded over just below his neck.

One of my medical school professors had brought several of us to the ICU to learn about lung physiology and the workings of the ventilator. I had never seen anyone in this condition, suspended in the netherworld between the living and the dead.

I had so many questions: Who was he? Who had he been? What had happened to him?

I hadn’t been to church since I left for college when I was 17 and yet, in that moment, my agnostic mind grasped for a higher being.

My professor’s question about respiratory physiology — How do the pressures recorded on the screen correspond to the narrowness of the bronchi and the elasticity of the lungs? — jolted me from these thoughts. I had enjoyed puzzles like that in the classroom, but I couldn’t reconcile this academic discussion with the existence of the man in the bed. I didn’t know how I would ever cope working in an ICU.

I soon found out.

I was assigned to the ICU during my internal medicine internship. Every fourth day for a month, I worked a 27-hour shift there. Most of the patients were like the man I had seen in medical school: so sick I would never get to know them.

There was the young woman in the final throes of cancer. She could no longer speak, only moan. Her sister asked me through tears, “How will I live without her?”