centered image

As A Part-Time Female Doctor, I'm Considered A Danger To The NHS

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Aug 16, 2015.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

“When are you going back to work?”

It’s a question you get used to on maternity leave, one with many permutations of delivery. There is casual interest; there is concern. On this occasion it was the one with the sardonic tone and the wry smile. The one that says “When are you going back to work?” but means Why aren’t you back already?

I am a part-time A&E doctor and a mother of two, and this question, and the discussion that followed, troubled me. Criticism isn’t new. It’s been two years since the outrage and hurt caused by comments in parliament and the media about the danger to the NHS of part-time female doctors. As the daughter of a much-loved GP and a tirelessly dedicated public health physician, the thought of studying for the pure love of your subject felt self-indulgent. I had to make a contribution.

So, aged seventeen, I chose medicine. And then I chose emergency medicine – and I love it. I love the interesting elderly patients and their underpaid carers who wait with them past their shift’s end. I love the children, febrile or wheezy but determined to play, their minds open to everything but sickness. I love my colleagues: forward-thinking consultants, the best nurses, the Red Cross ladies with their soothing words and their sandwiches.

And those I don’t love, I still care for. I care for the drunks, the disorderlies and the people who should have gone to their GP. So the fact that that earnest teenager has become a perceived danger to the NHS, our national treasure, saddens me deeply.