centered image

Assisted Suicide: A Change Of Heart

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 9, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

When I was training as a surgeon, I was pro assisted suicide. I believed it was a humane act of kindness and compassion. I imagined myself to be in the place of the other and at times felt if that was me, I’d rather be dead than live with that condition or this condition. I understand how easy it is to think and feel like this and not even question: could there be more to it?

For me, death was the end of all life. There was no afterlife, no consequences, no hell, no heaven, no eternity, no reincarnation or God. There was nothing at that time that could have persuaded me otherwise. I had no proof, no science, no experience to counter that belief which was strongly held. And with that worldview, it also made sense to me that if someone’s life is nearing the end from a terminal illness and they are suffering, why not assist them to die if they so choose? It seemed to make sense and to be compassionate, understanding, and respectful of another human being.

I was incensed by those who made arguments against assisted suicide based on personal religious belief, void of any science, or reasoned consistency. I found the religious arguments seriously wanting. Fear of hell, not pleasing God, being punished or incurring his wrath did not make sense to me, and they still don’t.

“Out beyond ideas of wrong-doing and right-doing there is a field, I’ll meet you there.”
    – Rumi

[​IMG]

Today, I no longer hold the belief that we just have one life. I no longer believe that the way we live and how we die is not important. How we live and how we die matter. For we live in an energetic world – where ultimately everything is energy and all is interconnected as one whole. As such, everything affects everything.