centered image

At-Home Delivery Of Physical Therapy Is Changing Rehab For The Better

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Mar 27, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

As an orthopedic surgeon, I perform about 900 hip and knee replacements each year. In an era of rapid discharge and outpatient surgery, patient education is of paramount importance. Nonetheless, besides the surgery itself, one of the most common areas of concern for patients is what comes after the procedure. The rehabilitation process after surgery is as important as what happens in the operating room itself, and each patient needs high-quality, easily accessible physical therapy to ensure they get the most effective care post-operatively.

Unfortunately, too few people are getting the kind of care they need after a joint replacement, resulting in suboptimal outcomes and longer recovery time. The problem is twofold. First, too few people go to physical therapy frequently enough to ensure the best recovery possible. Many do not even complete their full treatment plan. For most of them, it’s a matter of convenience — people simply do not have the time to visit an outpatient clinic multiple times a week that may not be conveniently located.

[​IMG]

Second, there is no way to standardize the physical therapy care patients are receiving. The post-acute care system is fragmented, and some patients may stay within a health system for physical therapy, while others choose external providers. Each outpatient clinic may have different protocols and ways of delivering care. On an individual level, even ensuring patients see the same therapist each visit is not always easy.

The reality is that in the current outpatient physical therapy model, these problems of access and fragmented care are the norm.