centered image

Being A Doctor Is Not What It Used To Be

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 1, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

All my life, I’ve been told that I will have job security. No matter what, as a doctor, I will always have a job despite whatever may come. I have chosen one of the most stable and secure jobs that exist. But did I?

Coming from a family of clinicians — seven physicians, two nurses, and one LPN — one would assume that we are safe and secure, for medicine is the safe house from the economy; however, as the coronavirus pandemic spreads, we see that that assumption is no longer true.

Let us start with the vast majority of the medical world: the outpatient offices and clinics. These settings include cardiologists, gastroenterologists, primary care providers, rheumatologists, dermatologists, surgeons, and many more; and as of a few weeks ago, all of the latter were effectively shut down. Those that have been able to transition to telemedicine have, but our fee-for-service system — which rewards based on procedural volume– has left many of these physicians unable to perform the highest-yield cases. Effectively, gastroenterologists are not able to do colonoscopies, cardiologists stress tests and catheterizations, and surgeons no surgeries other than those deemed “emergent.” This is not a call to pity physicians, but to understand the reality of what medicine has been for some time, but is even more so than ever: a for-profit-industry.