centered image

Being A Pregnant Medical Trainee Just Got More Complicated In The COVID-19 Era

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 20, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

As a cardiology fellow in a busy New York City hospital, my life has snowballed into chaos. Just last week, I was a pregnant doctor completing her second trimester, waddling down the halls of the hospital with an echocardiogram machine in tow, taking care of sick cardiac patients. Now a viral pandemic has invaded all remnants of this prior life.

Patients pour into intensive care units with coronavirus. Colleagues serve on the front lines against a new threat. Our cardiology service is now COVID central. This crisis is isolating for the health care worker as our reality has changed quickly. We discuss the pandemic with practicality and pedantic jargon, but inside we are helpless.

Speaking to other pregnant health care workers in my hospital, we are in an emotionally unique scenario that lacks clarity and is incredibly personal. We think about the health of our babies and feel a crippling fear walking into the hospital every day, unsure of what we will face or have to handle. As a doctor, my job is to help as many sick people as possible. Add on the tiny detail of my pregnancy, and I’ve started to question whether I can still do my job and protect my unborn child.

Personally, my mind races with uncertainty, and I’ve started to play the never-ending “What If” game in my head: What if I expose myself to COVID-19 and contract the virus? What if I do my duty as a doctor, only to realize the gravity of my choices later? What if I protect my family first – am I less of a doctor?

My mom recently said, “I think you should stay at home until the virus disappears; it’s too risky for you and the baby.” Her advice brought up the painful reality that I am living in.