centered image

centered image

Being Idealistic Is A Necessary Component In Achieving Your Goals

Discussion in 'Medical Students Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Jun 12, 2018.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I am a first-year medical student, and just like some of you once did, the primary reason I am becoming a physician is to really make a difference for my patients by [insert x, y or z].

“Wow, that’s really great, but we’ll see how you feel about it in a few years.”

“That’s not how it works once you’re actually out there.”

“Trust me, medicine isn’t what it used to be, get out while you can.”

Why do conversations I have with upper-class medical students, residents, fellows, and physicians usually deteriorate to an inevitable pessimism? For many in the medical community, it seems that to see idealism is to mistake it for naivety often.

You’ve heard the spiel : physicians, especially in primary care, are overworked, underpaid and don’t have the time to be a doctor. Forced to spend more of time completing tasks indirectly related to their patient’s care, doctors have relatively few empty moments in which actually to care for their patient. It’s nothing new. So why are we surprised that the experienced health care superhero chose to scoff at my well-rested goals to, you know, save the world? Honestly, I see how hard you work, and I’m not surprised. But it needs to stop.

In order to achieve the goals that are deemed too ambitious, you must maintain or reignite your idealism.

Life, medical school is no exception, will invariably chip away at your determination. It’s human nature to be brought down, to question our resilience, despite our best intentions. And unfortunately, in healthcare, it’s inevitable. Which is why you entirely should be overly idealistic about the goals you want to achieve, if you really want to achieve them.

Picture this: