centered image

Beyond The Fauci Effect: As Medical School Application Rates Soar, Medical Students Struggle

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 19, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I am sitting at my desk, scribbling down notes as my pre-recorded lecture races ahead of me at two times speed. My phone buzzes with another New York Times notification about the spread of coronavirus variants. I regret turning on push notifications about breaking news, but I can’t look away now. When I consider changing the setting, I am reminded that I shouldn’t look away. I have a responsibility to be in the know about every pandemic-related update. I am a medical student, adjacent to the trenches, yet so far removed.

I have seen the news articles circulating about the toll that the coronavirus pandemic has taken on health care workers. I’ve also seen it firsthand. My professors come to class unprepared, stressed, burned out, and our teachers are constantly subbed out as each person takes their turn to work on the inpatient COVID floor. My research mentors are falling behind, stressed with caring for patients, battling misinformation, pressures to shift their research focus to COVID-related projects, and caring for children who are learning from home. I watch the people I look up to struggle every day. I hear stories of patients who died alone, first-hand from the doctors who couldn’t save them. When I asked a mentor for some advice recently, she said, “I wouldn’t have chosen this specialty. No, it’s not that. I wouldn’t have chosen medicine at all if I could do it all over again.”

[​IMG]