centered image

centered image

“Broken Heart Syndrome” – An Interesting Example of when Mental Health and Physical Health Meet

Discussion in 'Psychiatry' started by Ghada Ali youssef, May 28, 2017.

1. Ghada Ali youssef

Ghada Ali youssef Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Takotsubo cardiomyopathy, or broken heart syndrome, was first described in Japan by Sato et al. in the 1900s . As a medical student, I first came across it in the same way as most medical students learn new things: on Scrubs. I joke, obviously. Well, about the first thing at least – I genuinely did learn about this on Scrubs.

As medical students, we are constantly told to keep on top of the latest developments in medicine and to look up things we don’t know about. Takotsubo cardiomyopathy, therefore, was something that I decided to look up after that episode of Scrubs. To my slight surprise, the condition was very real. Rare, yes, but very much real .

Note – This isn’t a scientific journal or a peer reviewed piece that I am writing. It is merely a blog post highlighting my interest in the condition.

What actually happens in Takotsubo cardiomyopathy?
    In essence, the condition arises as a result of some sort of severe emotional or physical stress. The result is a set of signs and symptoms that seem to be very similar to acute coronary syndromes. For the non-medical folk reading, an acute coronary syndrome essentially describes possible heart problems, including things like heart attacks.

Let’s stop and think about this for a second. Severe stress can lead to symptoms that are similar to a heart attack?! The answer is yes – but it’s important to realise that this is extremely rare. chest pain is a symptom that can arise out of things like anxiety, and I know from experience just how horrible and scary it is. It’s important to realise, however, that having chest pains as a result of anxiety is almost certainly not Takotsubo cardiomyopathy.

So what ARE the signs and symptoms?