centered image

Burn-In' Love: Fiery Romance and Soulmates Kindled in the ICU

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jun 6, 2019.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I found a soulmate in an unlikely place

[​IMG]

The suffering of others should put a damper on any reasonable romance, even in the 1980s. Dating at the workplace, particularly in the burn intensive care unit, seemed against the rules.

As date candidates go, I may not have been an obvious choice. A new nurse, male, I was one of the very few in 1984. We men in nursing were rare at the time; novel and slightly unnerving, a shade absurd, explanations about our existence were often required. I was a novice to New York City, struggling to keep my head above water.

Days into orientation, I first became aware of this young woman when the child she was feeding suddenly died. The pediatric patient had been terribly scalded a month before and her cardiac arrest was an unanticipated horror. I watched from the hallway as this young nurse floated in and out of the increasing desperate tumult of the code. After about an hour, the little girl was pronounced dead by a surgical resident, his ashen face streaked with tears. The nurse was left to clean and wrap the small child's lifeless body, helped by a few RNs with more experience.