centered image

centered image

Can Children Be Difficult And Selfish, Due To Nature Rather Than Nurture?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Nov 12, 2018.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Do you have a child who’s been horrid from birth, very difficult and selfish, due to nature rather than nurture?

This question was originally posted on Quora.com and was answered by Lisa Lane.

Difficult, yes. Since before birth.

It was a normal, healthy pregnancy. I took no medications, stopped caffeine and was in great physical condition. I was an elementary school teacher during that pregnancy, so there was stress, but I became a stay-at-home mother 3 weeks before my son was born. We played light classical music to my belly to help with intellectual development and did everything we could to insure a happy and healthy baby.

I remember the first time that I said he was going to be difficult; it was during my ultrasound. We tried to find out his sex, but he had his legs double-crossed and would not budge. At one point, he even stuck his tongue out and made a gesture as if he was showing defiance. They poked on me for 30 minutes, but we never found out his sex until he was born. He also seemed to pick the worst positions to lie in that caused me the most discomfort. He kicked hard, too, but at least it was a pregnancy free of complications.