centered image

centered image

Can Doctors Learn Surgical Skills on YouTube and Facebook?

Discussion in 'General Surgery' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Nov 19, 2016.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

d05de1ad04333dffb5300e0b288d0a9e.jpg

I am a self-taught bass guitarist in a church band, and, to be honest, it sometimes shows. I know I need to improve my skills, but time commitments make formal lessons difficult. So two days ago I opened up YouTube and entered “bass guitar lessons” into the search box.

19,000 hits registered. I selected a few that looked good on the top of the list. After several hours of practice, my skills and repertoire have improved considerably. I have found teachers I like, areas I need to focus on, and I haven’t even scratched the surface of what is freely available out there.

What if surgical skills could be taught like musical skills in this way? I realize surgery is different in that surgeons are not practicing repetitive inconsequential activities, but the difference is that there is a wealth of experience and helpful advice that is simpler than learning a musical skill and which can be presented in video form, and that will make a great difference to other surgeons, even experienced ones. I have learned amazing things from surgeons both far less and more experienced than I am, just by observing them at work.

Among the reasons I go to academic congresses is to learn from distinguished presenters how they approach surgical problems, and specifically to see what their methods are, and how they solve common surgical challenges. But going to congresses is expensive and time-consuming. I could get as much from looking at their video presentations online at my own convenience. So I thought I should see whether the information is out there on YouTube and Facebook and how deep that knowledge base could be.